Filmambiente 2011 - Winners

The final night of the first filmambiente, November, 24th, was opened by Suzana Amado, director of the festival.
After naming and thanking her crew and collaborators – curator Michael Greif; jurors Manoel de Almeida e Silva, Phillip Hartman and Slawomir Grunberg; producers Marcio Guimaraes, Bernardo Thedim, Barbara Ramalho, Rafael Alves and Raquel Couto; UNIC/RJ, Goethe Institute, French Institute, Audiovisual Service of France Embassy, Pedro Amado e Fred Nobre – she thanked sponsors Oi and Secretaria de Cultura do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, and supporter OiFuturo.

The full theatre than new the awards of the night:

People’s Choice award went to Bag It! And director Suzan Beraza accepted the Taina (star in Tupi, the language of native Brazilians) and R$ 3.000,00

Curator Michael Greif announced best short film, Tribus, a 2011 Brazilian documentary directed by Marcus Pimentel. The best feature was split between Into Eternity, Danish 2010 documentary by Michael Madsen and The light bulb Conspiracy, Spanish 2010 documentary directed by Cosima Dannoritzer.

Representing the jurors, Phillip Hartman announced two special awards:
Julio Santucho, Argentinian and one of next year’s curators, accepted the award for Agua (Water), short fiction directed by Fabián Sarla. Tonje Schei and Lowan Stewart, director and producer of Play Again, received the Tainá and R$ 1.000,00.

The award ceremony was followed by the exhibition of Our Daily Poison ((Notre Poisson Quotidien) 2010 French documentary directed by Marie-Monique Robin.